100 YEARS OF THE SWISS-AMERICAN SOCIETY

Our organization is turning 100 years old in 2020. Due to all the commitment of our predecessors,

we are still on the road to success today.

SINCE 1920...

The Swiss-American Society was founded in 1920 under the name “Swiss Friends of the United States of America” (SFUSA) in Zürich. The thirteen founding members were the original participants of the first “Swiss Mission of Economic Studies”, in 1919, which travelled to the USA for 68 days. The group consisted of 225 manufacturers and merchants, including prominent names such as Bally, Boveri, Raichle, Reinhard, Schmidheiny, Steinfels and Sulzer. Their aim was to get to know Frederick Taylor’s process oriented “Scientific Management” theory within the American company model such as Ford Motor Comp., General Electric etc.

The last of these “business tours” took place in 1972. These now took place with Swissair instead of the steamship. The excursion lasted only 16 days.

STRENGTHEN THE FRIENDSHIP

Even back then, the main purpose of SFUSA was to strengthen the friendship between Switzerland and the USA and among the members of the association. Similar to today, back then - luncheons with different economic and cultural topics were also held on a regular basis. In addition to the monthly meetings and weekly luncheons, other events were also held such as the Christmas party, the SFUSA Ball and the “Smoker’s Night”.

MIDWIFE FOR OTHER ORGANIZATIONS

SFUSA was the first Swiss-American institution in Switzerland who helped found the Rotary Club of Zürich (1924), the American Women’s Club pf Zurich, formerly known as the American Ladies Club (1925), and the ETH Institute of Industrial Engineering and Management (BWI, 1929).

PROMOTING EXCHANGE

In 1927 the SFUSA arranged and supported the first student exchange between Switzerland and the USA. Each year, the association awarded a scholarship to an American student so they could complete a year of study in Switzerland. The first scholarship program was cancelled in 1969 due to financial reasons but reactivated in 1982.

After the second World War, the SFUSA organized holiday campaigns for US army officers. These activities as well as the regular exchange between the American Embassy in Bern and the Consulate General, which was already based in Zürich, have contributed immensely to the cultural and economic exchange between Switzerland and the sister Republic of the United States of America.

SURIVING THE CRISIS YEARS TOGETHER

During the Great Depression that followed “Black Friday” on the New York Stock Exchange in 1929, the US erected tariff and import barriers that hit the Swiss economy hard. This led to a slow and persistent decline in memberships. During the mid-1990s our friendship was put to the test yet again during the scandal involving dormant assets of the Jewish Holocaust victims.

A SAFE VALUE IN UNCERTAIN TIMES

Today; the economic and political environment has become more volatile, complex and uncertain. Despite- or perhaps precisely because of this- the Swiss-American Society Zürich continues to cultivate the friendship between the two countries. For the value and significance of a friendship manifests itself precisely in these moments of differing political and economic views. Now more then ever- informal contact are all the more important.

ORGANIZATIONAL ADJUSTMENTS

In the year 2000; due to the increasing demand and number of scholarships, the SFUSA decided to establish a tax-exempt scholarship fund in the form of an association.

In 2007 SFUSA changed its name to the “Swiss-American Society- Zürich”. The spirit and objective of the Society remains the same: to promote a friendship between the US and Switzerland.

OLDER, BUT STILL FIT

Today, the Swiss-American Society-Zürich has a diverse membership group ranging from long-time members to young professionals whom have just returned from a scholarship program in the US.

Even though we all have different backgrounds, age and experiences, we still share a common bond with the United States. We all value the family-like exchange, paired with exciting events, top-notch speakers and a scholarship fund to help and promote young talented students.

In 2020, the «Grand Old Lady» of the Swiss-American institution has turned 100 years old- and she’s still going strong.

100 years of history and still going strong (PDF), article featured in the “Festschrift” by Cornelia Ritz Bossicard

  • Weiß LinkedIn Icon

Visit us on LinkedIn:

©2020 Swiss-American Society   I   Imprint I   Data Protection   I   Webdesign from auffrischerei.ch

100 JAHRE SWISS-AMERICAN SOCIETY

Unsere Organisation wird 2020 hundert Jahre alt. Dank des Engagements unserer Vorgängerinnen und Vorgänger sind wir noch heute erfolgreich unterwegs.

SEIT 1920...

Die Swiss-American Society wurde 1920 als «Swiss Friends of the United States of America» (SFUSA) in Zürich gegründet. Die dreizehn Gründungsmitglieder waren Teilnehmer der ersten „Swiss Mission of Economic Studies“, die 1919 während 68 Tagen die USA bereisten. Die Gruppe bestand aus 225 Fabrikanten und Kaufleuten, darunter prominente Namen wie Bally, Boveri, Raichle, Reinhard, Schmidheiny, Steinfels und Sulzer. Ihr Ziel war es, in amerikanischen Musterunternehmen wie Ford Motor Comp., General Electric etc. das prozessorientierte „Scientific Management“ von Frederick Taylor kennenzulernen.
Die letzte dieser „Business Touren“ fand wahrscheinlich 1972 statt – dieses Mal mit der Swissair, nicht mehr mit dem Dampfschiff. Die Exkursion dauerte denn auch nur 16 Tage.

DIE FREUNDSCHAFT STÄRKEN

Hauptzweck der SFUSA war schon damals, die Freundschaft zwischen der Schweiz und den USA sowie unter den Mitgliedern des Vereins zu stärken. Wie heute fanden regelmässig Luncheons mit Referaten zu wirtschaftlichen und kulturellen Themen statt. Zusätzlich zu den monatlichen Treffen und wöchentlichen Luncheons kamen weitere Anlässe hinzu: zum Beispiel Weihnachtspartys, der SFUSA-Ball und die «Smoker’s Night».

GEBURTSHELFERIN FÜR WEITERE ORGANISATIONEN

Als wohl erste schweizerisch-amerikanische Institution in der Schweiz leistete die SFUSA Hilfestellung für die Gründung des Rotary Clubs Zürich (1924), des American Women’s Club of Zürich, vormals American Ladies’ Club (1925), und des ETH Institute of Industrial Engineering and Management (BWI, 1929).

AUSTAUSCH FÖRDERN

1927 arrangierte und unterstützte die SFUSA den ersten Studentenaustausch zwischen der Schweiz und den USA. Jährlich gewährte die Gesellschaft einem amerikanischen Studenten ein Stipendium für die Absolvierung eines Studienjahrs in der Schweiz. Das erste Stipendienprogramm wurde 1969 aus finanziellen Gründen aufgehoben, aber 1982 reaktiviert.
Nach dem zweiten Weltkrieg organisierte die SFUSA auch Urlauberaktionen für Offiziere der US Army. Solche Aktionen sowie der regelmässige Austausch mit der amerikanischen Botschaft in Bern und dem schon damals in Zürich ansässigen Generalkonsulat hat viel zum gegenseitigen kulturellen und wirtschaftlichen Verständnis zwischen der Schweiz und ihrer Schwesterrepublik USA beigetragen.

AUCH KRISENJAHRE GUT ÜBERSTANDEN

In der grossen Depression, die 1929 dem „Black Friday“ an der New York Stock Exchange folgte, errichteten die USA Zollschranken und Importbeschränkungen, die die Schweizer Wirtschaft empfindlich trafen. Dies führte zu einem langsamen, aber anhaltenden Mitgliederrückgang. Auch Mitte der 90er-Jahre wurde die Freundschaft im Zusammenhang mit den nachrichtenlosen Vermögen jüdischer Holocaustopfer auf die Probe gestellt.

EIN SICHERER WERT IN UNSICHEREN ZEITEN

Das wirtschaftliche und politische Umfeld ist heute volatiler, komplexer und unsicherer geworden. Trotzdem – oder gerade deshalb – pflegt die Swiss-American Society Zürich weiterhin die Freundschaft zwischen beiden Ländern. Denn der Wert und die Bedeutung einer Freundschaft manifestiert sich gerade in Momenten mit teilweise unterschiedlichen politischen und wirtschaftlichen Ansichten. Dann sind informelle Kontakte umso wichtiger.

ORGANISATORISCHE ANPASSUNGEN

Aufgrund der steigenden Nachfrage und Anzahl Stipendien beschloss die SFUSA im Jahr 2000 die Gründung eines steuerbefreiten Stipendienfonds in Form eines Vereins.
Im Jahr 2007 änderte die SFUSA ihren Namen in “Swiss-American Society – Zürich”. Der Geist und die Zielsetzung der Gesellschaft sind immer noch dieselben: die Freundschaft zwischen den USA und der Schweiz zu fördern.

ÄLTER GEWORDEN, ABER WEITERHIN FIT

Heute hat die Swiss-American Society – Zürich eine vielfältige Mitgliederbasis, die von langjährigen Mitgliedern bis zu jungen Berufstätigen reicht, die gerade von einem Stipendienprogramm in den USA zurückgekehrt sind.
Obwohl wir alle in Bezug auf Hintergrund, Alter und Erfahrung unterschiedlich sind, teilen wir eine gemeinsame Verbundenheit mit den Vereinigten Staaten. Wir schätzen den Austausch in einem familiären Umfeld mit abwechslungsreichen, spannenden Veranstaltungen und Referenten und unterstützen unseren Stipendienfonds, um junge Talente zu fördern.
Die “Grand Old Lady” der schweizerisch-amerikanischen Institutionen ist im Jahr 2020 hundert Jahre alt geworden – und ist immer noch stark unterwegs.

100 Jahre Geschichte und immer noch stark unterwegs (PDF), Artikel in der Festschrift von Cornelia Ritz Bossicard

  • Weiß LinkedIn Icon

Besuchen Sie uns auf LinkedIn:

©2020 Swiss-American Society   I   Impressum   I   Datenschutz   I   Webdesign von auffrischerei.ch